Last day to vote for Senate

Staff | Report

Friday is the last day that students can submit ballots for the top senators of choice for the four seats the University of Guelph-Humber has on the main Guelph Campus Senate.

Danya Elsayed, Jessica Lecques, Justin Mihaly, current IGNITE Vice President Maheen Nazim, Hooria Katal, Nora Elgharbawy and incumbent Genevieve Samlal make up the seven candidates.

While an analysis by The Avro Post determines who the possible frontrunners are in the Senate race, there is no way to know who will be announced a senator come Monday.

Last year, there were only three Senate candidates and thus they were all acclaimed and a heavily contested by-election was held in the fall of 2018.

Students this year can vote in the ranked ballot via a link sent to their GryphMail.

Two candidates responded to interview requests from The Avro Post and went in-depth with their ambitions and platforms including Justin Mihaly and Jessica Lecques. However, nomination statements were also released by candidates running for Senate.

Voting ends at 11:59 p.m. on Friday evening.

Image of ballot box from files.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: